I'm a Newbie, and Here's My Story

HOSPICE, genetics clinic, leaking legs, EMG, nerve conductions, phantom liquid feeling, chronic fatigue, chills, malaise, ankle pain, swollen feet, transient lymphedema, full body lymphedema, tissue hardness, dystonia, painful boil

Moderators: Birdwatcher, jenjay, Cassie, patoco, Senior Moderators

Postby patoco » Sat Jun 10, 2006 8:47 pm

Originally posted by Tim 04/07/2005

I joined this group today, and as a means of introduction, I would like to share my story. My therapist told me that I have a unique perspective in my struggle with lymphedema, so my intent in telling my story is to hopefully encourage you to keep up with your treatments, keep up with wearing your stockings, and keep up with your nighttime compression techniques.

My name is Tim, and it is curious to me now how incredibly hard-headed we can be when it comes to our blinded view in thinking, “this cannot happen to me. It can happen to other people, but not to me.” I know all about these folks because I was their king- King Tim, The King of Denial, was my name. When I turned 40, I was diagnosed with lymphedema, but it was not debilitating and I could manage fairly well with no treatment. My doctor at the time prescribed a diuretic for the swelling and this seemed to work. I now know this was the worst thing I could’ve been given, but that’s history now. My attitude was I’ll beat this, no problem. I was very active. I played tennis 3-4 times a week on several tennis leagues, and I cycled 5 miles a day. I figured I’d beat this by sheer will-power and some denial; after all I was King Tim, The Impervious!